Tylersburg Yelpers

Handcrafted Turkey Calls

Testimonials :   Feedback from some of our happy customers...

Tylersburg Yelpers long slate helped me tag out on my last day of the season. Just a jake but the long slate got them to turn around from the direction they were going and got em within 20 yards. And they had a hen with them. Got my son a box also. Called in a Tim with it the other day but he missed. Both look and sound outstanding. Thanks!


Bill Carters  Temple, Texas  2017

This striker came today and it works great. I picked up a like new Ol' Faithful slate cll in the Bargain Barn at Cabelas recently and with this striker I feel like I could start winning calling championships with it! Thank you very much.

Tim Collins
UGLY STICK   2017


New message from: skippy52518 
Wendy:

I didn't mean to imply the sound was bad on the striker. In fact I love it. Called in four toms this morning while the mist was still raising on the field. Unfortunately this 20 gauge just doesn't have the distance of the 12 gauge I want to get. It sure was exciting to see the blue heads gobbling and strutting though. Also had a hen come within 10 feet of me while I was purring on the slate call. This may be my go to stick for turkey hunting now. Feel free to pass on our conversations and if I do get one, I will take a pic with the stick.

Kathy

New message from: skippy52518 purchased Wormy spalted oak burl with hickory shaft May 8, 2016 from Ebay.
Wendy:

So here's the review of the striker. First off it is beautiful. Nice wood markings and design. The stick is a little top heavy but balanced enough to use. However, because of the taper and the top weight the sound is of a mature hen. Going out in the am. If I get a tom, I will send you a photo. Thanks. I can endorse this product for sure. 

Kathy



Well it happened this past Friday.(5/27/2016)  Nice one also. 22 yd shot with the 20 gauge, 1 1/14 oz, #5 shot. He weighed 20 lbs, with 1" spurs, and an 8 3/4" beard. I purred it in with the stick I got from you.Yup it was exciting. I would love for you to see the photo. You can use it for any advertising. Let me know so I can see the advertisement. Thank you so much. It's now my go to stick.  Kathy

Congratulations for a successful hunt!! 






Nate Ion got this bird April 30, 2016 on his birthday!! First turkey. GREAT birthday present. 

His dad, Jodi, used a cherry pot call to help Nate get his bird. 


Congratulations Nate!!

I know more about box calls than I let most know.  Being a avid collector and all.  My friend Jim is very serious critique of calls being a maker  himself.  I must say       Well done. You made a perfect call.  Could talk for hours about the fine details. Perfect representation of Purple Heart sound. Thank you  Daniel Smith   May 2016  (custom made purple heart box call)

Hey Wendy and Rick I just got your Deluxe Ugly Stik (with Kingwood rounded tip), and just want to say wow this is a heck of a striker. Can't wait to get back out on the woods . E. Molina, KS April 2016 

May 2016, Eric Molina wrote, and sent pictures of his turkeys   "Hi wendy and rich. Filled both tags today here in the heartland kansas. Your calls are ooooo "K" keep up the good work!"

      Congrats Eric on your turkeys.

Awesome sounding call!!!! Can't wait to take it hunting!!! Recommended!!!!! TURKEY CALL FRICTION SLATE CALL ** Long Slate Hardwood**
bubba94   2016 Ebay sale

 The Tom and Coyote were both taken with the 1/4" Hickory Tylersburg Stryker. The Tom scored 62: 22 lbs, 10" Beard, and 1" Spurs. Coyotes really like Tylersburg Strykers too; that Coyote came right into me on four clucks. I really appreciate your products...Truly the real deal.

Dingoboy923330





This bird was called in with one of your long slate calls using the corn cob hickory striker. My buddy actually shot him at 45 yards and he continued to come right back to the calling after scattering a bit. I fired the final shot at 35 yards. The bird had 2 beards (10.5"and 6"), 1-3/16" spurs, and weighed 22 pounds.   Kris Kitzmiller May 2015

Finally worked this cagey Pennsylvania Gobbler in to 35 yards with that beautiful, custom Ugly Stick you made for me Wendy!  I worked him in on 7 different occasions, but when the woods went quiet on my 5th morning of hunting him, the Ugly Stick lured him over 150 yards to his demise.  Can't thank you all enough for helping me to seal the deal on a FANTASTIC Spring Tom!  (pot call is her own)

J. Ellen Spieles  Spring Turkey Season 2015


Striker used to call in her turkey: DELUXE UGLY STICK

Kind of funny, people buy that corncob because it looks cool. However, you guys knocked it out of the park with that 1/4" hickory striker. That thing purs, clucks, puts, cuts, and yelps just like the real thing...Turkey cannot tell the difference. Seriously, the best striker ever and the Plexiglass is an awesome universal striker. The Plexiglass also sounds better than the corncob; especially for long distance calling. I was literally talking to two Toms on the Alabama side of the river, from Georgia this morning. They came all the way down river to where I was; but, they wouldn't dedicate to fly across the river. I know, that would have been a pretty tall order....I will spread the word to all my friends. You folks have an awesome and superior product.

- dingoboy92330      (Ebay sale, April 2015)


 

 "I used your double-sided slate\ceramic friction call along with my 'barber-pole' striker to call this gobbler in on opening day at 08:30 to 25yds. 18 lbs., 1" hooks, 8" beard. thanks for excellent calls!!! your very happy and extremely satisfied customer."
~ Mike Callaghan, Erie, Pa.

I received my striker today and all I can say is WOW!!! Its not only a beautiful work of art but it performs flawlessly! I even tried it on some cheap commercial pots I had laying around, that always sounded like junk, and they sound great now. Its astounding the difference this striker makes. Great job on the craftsmanship and I will certainly send any pics if I get lucky this season. I am just totally floored by the quality of this thing!
Alan Dunfee, Cumming, GA

 

I Live in the Mountains of north Ga and birds here are very call shy. very difficult to call and extremely weary and hard to coax in those last few yards into shooting range. Let me tell you, I've Probably spent $100 this year on Small calls, One that I could use for Seducing a timber chicken in those last few yards. EVERY call I've got so far has been real high pitched, and really had to tune the striker to get it to work. They have all sounded awful.  This Pocket slate of yours sounds amazing! its got that rasp that i like of that old hen, you can get extremely quiet with it and the striker works great. its not a matter of IF, its a Matter of WHEN I get a bird with this call and my recurve bow you guys will be the first to get a picture.  Great job on a great product at a great price!!!!!!!!

Warmest Regards,
Jonathan Lewis, Wildlife Artist

 

"I recently won one of your custom box calls [on Ebay]. Your Right, they really do bring in the birds. Please feel free to post this picture on your website. Thanks again" 

- James Silverstruck
Kathleen, GA

 

Rich's Spring 2014 turkey gotten with long slate and cherry pot call.

...15 notches now on his long slate. Brought out of retirement a few years ago.

Rich's turkey with our old dog Cody

"Got my pocket slate and just love the hell out of it and I'm usually not the cussin type unless something really moves me good or bad. WELL, let me tell you that this experience was a movement of the good kind. just love the purr sound this call and corn cob make. really the only sound I use when I have the big gobbler reeling in. just drives them nuts, the softer the better!!!! plan on hunting this call in Potter county this spring and you can bet I'll be buying more calls from ya'll real soon. I could spend my whole paycheck on your site in a matter of minutes, but my better half just might take offense to that so I'll have to buy a little at a time!! thank you again for a GO TO CALL I plan to use!!"
-- LONNIE SHEELEY- CHAMBERSBURG PA.

?I have hunted turkeys in several states for over 15 years. I have used Lynch, Rohm Brothers and Smith Sweet Butternut box calls. When push comes to shove I go straight for Tylersburg Yelpers. They are quality handcrafted calls.?
-- Larry B. Kiehl Sr.

?Quite a few years ago I purchased one of your slate and striker friction calls at George?s Little Store just north of Tionesta, PA (Model #SS96140). While I was there, I signed up for their turkey contest. The third week of the season, I used this call to kill my biggest gobbler to date. Twenty two and a quarter pounds with an eleven and a quarter inch beard. It won the turkey contest as both the heaviest and longest beard entered. In all of this overwhelming excitement, I left my call sitting right where I short that bird. I did not get back to that area until the following spring. There sat my call, a little weathered and the lip chewed a bit by what I presume to be chipmunks. I am still using this call to this day and we are still killing turkeys!! Thanks for a GREAT product.?
-- Harry Meyer
-- Tionesta, PA  N.W.T.F.

This is a great friction striker. It makes a real good tone and I will be ordering more turkey calls from ya'll.
Thank you much for your fast service. (bought wild cherry burlled striker)
- clance01_2008

This gives each one of us one.(my husband, myself and my son) They sure make a pretty sound. -Thank you Mary Ann
TURKEY CALL SLATE STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS UGLY STICK



Wendy,

 

Just got my 1-piece Hickory and it is SWEET!  It sounds exactly like my original!  (the one that came with my slate chipped & was ruined, but it was a Gobbler slayer!)



 I CAN NOT wait to get this out into the woods!  I know it will be my go to striker as I LOVE that unique tip you had on it.  It's SO easy to play my slate with it!

 Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!  I can't believe I found "the one"!  I will be sure to let you know how it goes this Spring!

 

Ellen

 J. Ellen Spieles



A few entries from my EBay Feedback (click to see more):

beautiful item and super people!
TURKEY CALL FRICTION STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS RASPY

Looks great, sounds great, can't wait to try it out!!!!    
TYLERSBURG YELPERS ~~DELUXE~~ Turkey Box Call

 
Your'e not Strutting Your Stuff if you don't own a call from this call maker! A+
TYLERSBURG YELPERS ~*~RASPIER~*~ SLATE STRIKER !!

 
very nice striker, beautiful piece of work, sound good....thank you very much,    
TURKEY CALL SLATE STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS FANCY

My third item from this excellent callmaker. I highly recommend these calls. 5*
(ONE) HANDMADE SLATE STRIKER "The UGLY stick"!!!


great set of strikers sounds great on different calls
HANDMADE SLATE STRIKERS (3) set of three!!!


Made well. Sounds good.
AFFORDABLE TURKEY BOX CALL!! THE BEST AROUND!!


It may be called "ugly" but it sure helps make a beautiful sound. A++++
(ONE) HANDMADE SLATE STRIKER "The UGLY stick"!!!


Great looking and even better sounding call! Sounds ideal/fast shipping! Thanks!
TURKEY CALL** SLATE WITH CHERRY POT**NUMBERED**L@@K!!!!

Great Sounding Call, Super-Fast Shipping, Smooth Transaction, Highly Recommend
```DELUXE SIGNED TURKEY BOX CALL!!!```


Excellent call / Great seller
SLATE TURKEY CALL HANDMADE with striker L@@K!!!

 

Positive feedback ratingA very interesting call, I can't wait to try it out, thank you.
TURKEY CALL FRICTION SLATE TYLERSBURG YELPERS *RED* POCKET SLATE

 Got my strikers tues  all three sound awsome. Killed my first gobbler with em yesterday. Thanks so much,n ill spread tne word around.  Bruce Sapp

*Nice little call good sound I'm giving as a gift to a 9yr. old future hunter

Pocket slate




*Good sound got Gobbles the first day FAST SHIPPING!

Cherry pot with purple heart striker





*Cool strikers tried them all good sound! THANKS

3 striker set






Positive feedback ratinggreat sound, pretty call
 
TURKEY FRICTION BOX CALL TYLERSBURG YELPERS **CURLEY MAPLE & CEDAR** ONLY ONE!!!




 

 
Positive feedback ratingAwsome product. Great service..
 
  
 

TURKEY CALL FRICTION **RED** CHERRY POT TYLERSBURG YELPERS signed and numbered

 

**quality all the way fit finish & the sounds it makes very happy with this call

TURKEY CALL FRICTION **RED** CHERRY POT TYLERSBURG YELPERS signed and numbered

 

**Great seller, excellent communication, definitely recommend doing business with

TURKEY CALL SLATE STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS BARBER POLE NICE

 

**Nice folks. Good communication and honorable people to do business with

TURKEY CALL friction box call TYLERSBURG YELPERS WVa Wild Plum Deluxe

 

**This is a great turkey call! Sounds great!

TURKEY FRICTION BOX CALL TYLERSBURG YELPERS *SPALDED CURLEY MAPLE WITH WORMHOLES

 

**A+ Ebay Seller. The Ugly Stick is versatile and produces great sound. Thanks!

TURKEY CALL SLATE STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS **UGLY STICK**

 

**A+ Ebay Seller. Very nice custom striker produces great sounds

TURKEY CALL SLATE STRIKER TYLERSBURG YELPERS BARBER POLE

 
   
   
  

Wendy,

      It was a pleasure speaking with you.  Your customer service skills are excellent.  Happy to do business with you.  I really like your products and can't wait to use them starting this weekend.  Thanks again and take care.

R/

Scot
 

 

Do you have feedback on my calls?  Please let me know!
Contact me with your stories and pictures